I Need Your Running Advice…Part Two!

I bought new running shoes a few weeks ago, and I had a lot of anxiety over the fact that they weren’t pink.

But, I had to choose comfort over cuteness for 26.2.

However

I decided to give these babies a little makeover!

Much better!

I am doing pretty good with my mini goals. I have been waking up earlier, consciously drinking more water, taking princess Tia for more walks, and sort of sticking to my training plan.

Monday I ran five miles (because I was supposed to do that on Sunday, but took a nap instead), went to yoga, and did some strength training.

Yesterday I ran a three mile tempo run. I ran .5 of a mile at 6.0 mph, .5 of a mile at 6.2 mph, .25 of a mile at 6.3, then at 6.4, then at 6.5, then at 6.6, then at 6.7, then 6.8, then 7.2, then I finished up at 6.2. Does that make sense?

Today I just finished my long run of the week…nine miles. It was a great run! Today was just supposed to be a four miler, but since I will be running a 5K race on Saturday instead of my long run, I did it today.

Now on to my new running questions!

I need help on hills!

source

So far, I’ve done the majority of my training on a treadmill, therefore I haven’t had much any hill training. The course for my first full marathon has 3 out of 5 star rating for difficulty and for hills.

Ummm, what?

Although common sense is not one of my strengths, I do realize that hill training should probably be incorporated in my training, especially since the weather is now nice enough to go outside. So, what is hill training? Do I just run routes with lots of hills? I’m pretty sure my nine miler today was FULL of hills…so does it count as hill training?

Also, what is the technique for running hills?

Or maybe I should also just ask what is the technique for any running. As I’ve said before, all of my running experience has come from conditioning for other sports, so I guess I’ve never really been taught how to run. I’m also pretty sure that I’ve come up with a funky looking running technique since I watched myself run as I past a series of reflective windows today…it’s a booty-sticking-way-out with an awkwardly-straight-back kind of look. My quads and knees haven’t felt completely normal since my half marathon, and I think I am running funny (or maybe this is normal?) to compensate for it.

You see, I need your help! Please and thank you :)

ang

12 thoughts on “I Need Your Running Advice…Part Two!

  1. When I ran cross country, we had to face a lot of hills. They were awful. But once you got through them, it was smooth sailing (:

    My xc coach would always yell at us “RELAX & GO RELAX & GO”
    In normal people words it means–
    Relax your arms while you go up the hill. If you tighten them you waste energy and it could mean cramps later in the race. Your arms are your tempo and you gotta stay loose.

    You want to look at the top of the hill while you are running. Keep a steady pace as you go up the hill, and keep your eyes up. It makes it easier.

    happy trails! <3

  2. ah, this is mah forte! :)

    I’m like you… I like training on the treadmill. but THENNN, it makes me hard to run those hillsies!

    As for hill training, use some incline on the tread! It’s not as good as actual hills, but it’s better than just running flat. Then, once or twice a week, go to a hill and do different drills up and down it. I like going to a little mountain near where I live for hill runs and just snake around it a bunch of times.

    As for technique, when you approach a steep hill, really pump your arms (I know, it sounds stupid).

    I’ve also been told to do a little digging motion with your hands. Kinda like your swimming freestyle, only “dig into the ground” with your hands.

    Most of all, shorten your strides when you go uphill, then on the downhill, lengthen them. A lot of runners forget to lengthen their stride, and just watch… you’ll breeze past them with barely any exertion. :)

    GOOD LUCCCKKKKKK! Please don’t hesitate to come to me with different questions. :)

  3. I’m no hill expert (Chicago has a few hills…which are all sledding hills) but as far as I know there is just running hilly routes and then there are hill repeats. Run up hill, run down the hill, run up the hill, run down the hill, etc. Time them when going up to see your progress. I’m sure there is an article somewhere on Runner’s World about hills, maybe give it a shot.

  4. Great advice here so far! I’ve tried adding “hill repeats” into my workouts which REALLY help. Just as the name suggests, find your nearest hill and run up that hill, walk down, rest and repeat a bunch. I usually do about 6-8 repeats at a time. They are killer but make a huge difference in form and pace.

    Lean into the hill on the way up, shorten those strides and use those arms (and butt!) to propel you up that hill. Also put more of your weight towards the front of your foot and push off from there as you go up that hill, really helps too.

    Good luck!!

  5. oh my so many great questions:

    Re Hill Training:
    * Strength training – particularly walking lunges are great for improving your hill running
    * Finding a challenging/long hill and running repeats up and down several times is also great
    *Running a hilly course while maintaining your race speed or even slightly faster is great

    Re Running form:
    *Focus on moving your arms and legs directly forward when you run.
    *Try to make sure that you’re not holding your shoulders tight
    *Make sure when you plant your feet with each step that you’re not landing on your heels.
    *Try to look at least 10-15 feet in front of you so that you’re not bending over too much.

    Shorter, quicker steps are always good for distance running

    Hope that’s helpful! :)

  6. aha I’m pretty sure my running technique has some booty stickin’ out too! love your new laces… I’m definitely going to look for some cute laces now. I love tempo runs because they make you feel so accomplished after! As for hills, I usually either find hills near my house and run them (sprint up them) or I walk on an incline on the treadmill (highest incline, slower speed). It really helps with your heart rate and helps to build up to hills.

  7. I think you have a good start with getting good quality shoes (Asics are the best). I did my first half marathan 2 years ago and Asics saved my feet (and toe nails : /).

    Jenny gave you some good advice. I would add that you should take it easy and don’t over do it; make sure your body has time to rest. Running 3-4 days a week (with one long run in there) is plenty.

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

