When Life Gives You Lemons…

I am sorry that I haven’t made a new post since Thursday.  When I started this blog, my goal was to post at least once everyday.  I am still going to try to do this, but unfortunately this weekend wasn’t quite what I had hoped for.

At the end of my last post I expressed my excitement and anxiety about receiving my letter to find out if I made it into nursing school.  Well, Friday morning my husband and I arrived at our other home, and the first thing I did was go to the mailbox.  As soon as I opened the mailbox…I knew.  All the students who were accepted into the program were receiving large envelopes.

When Life Gives You Lemons: Mine was a small envelope.

source

So, what could I do?  The only thing I wanted to do was curl up and cry.  And I did…for quite some time.  My husband gave me some alone time, and when he knew I was ready he came and talked with me about it.  He is so supportive…I can’t believe how lucky I am to have him.

And then I had to call my mom and give her the news…and then call my dad and give him the news…and then I saw my friend, and I told her the news.  It’s strange, it was almost harder for me to tell everyone else that I didn’t make it in because I felt embarrassed about it, than it was for me to find out myself

When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Lemonade: But I know life must go on.  Everyone keeps asking me, “Are you going to be okay?”  My reply is, “I have to be.”  I didn’t decide to go back to school to be a nurse just for something to do.  I want to be a nurse so I can help people…so I am STILL going to become a nurse…I just will have to come up with a new plan.  I am NOT giving up.  I CAN’T!

source

Or Just Put Your Lemon In A Mixed Drink: Luckily, the same day that I found out the news, I had lunch planned with my mom and mom-in-law (at a mexican restaurant…FAV!) and dinner planned with my best friend (also at a mexican restaurant…DOUBLE FAV!)  We shared some margaritas 🙂

Thank goodness for all the love in my life.  I really am blessed.

ang

10 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Lemons…

  1. I am proud of you, I guess next semester that school will suffer a LOSS with you-the A student. I loved your post and I am trying to make lemonade at my house with whats going on here but I keep getting just plain ole sour lemons!!!!! whats that about!!! teeheheeee

  2. It’s tough, but you will be fine. I have been through some crazy stuff in the past year and I had to keep telling myself the same thing…”I have to be fine. I have no other choice.” It’s hard to believe it sometimes and I’m SO much better at giving advice than following it! Keep you chin up, girly! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Grossness |

  4. Pingback: August is Making Me Smile |

  5. Pingback: A Serious Lack of Motivation |

  6. Pingback: What is Faith? |

  7. Pingback: Two Thousand and Eleven, It’s Been Lovely |

Leave a Reply

