Mirror, Mirror…

“Do you want to meet the love of your life?  Look in the mirror.” ~Byron Katie

My wedding day! 7.19.08

How many times do you look in the mirror on a daily basis.  I hate to admit it, but for me it is a lot.  It has actually turned into a bad habit. And no, I am not just looking to check my makeup or to see if I have food in my teeth (although I do that also), but I find myself turning sideways to see how I “look” today.  Mirrors are a funny thing, though.  Some mirrors make you look way bigger than you actually feel…while others, usually far and few between, make you actually feel good about yourself!  So which mirror is correct?  WHO KNOWS?!  I can’t look at myself from another person’s point of view, so there is no way of knowing which mirror is portraying the correct version of me!

Girl at the Mirror by Norman Rockwell

source

“Remove those ‘I want you to like me’ stickers from your forehead and, instead, place them where they truly will do the most good – on your mirror.” ~Susan Jeffers

When my husband and I were looking for a place to rent in our new town, we came across a small duplex.  It was covered wall-to-wall in dark wood panelling (very seventies-like), it was partially underground, and it had a tile floor in the kitchen and bathroom…but not tiles like you would think there’d be in a kitchen or bathroom…they were tiles like you’d see walking down a high school hallway.  Weird.  The appliances looked like they were also from the seventies…maybe earlier…and it was missing something very important…a DISHWASHER! And guess what…this is the place we decided to rent (crazy as it sounds, it was the best option out of everything we had looked at so far, and we were in a hurry to find a place.)

I dreaded the thought of living here, even though I know it is temporarily.  It is so not my style.

But…the place came equipped with two mirrors.  One mirror was the tiny bathroom medicine cabinet.  It is either super small, or just placed a little higher than usual, but I can only see myself from the neck up.  I find this to be a good thing because it helps me not to focus solely on those “trouble areas” we all feel we have.  The other mirror is a full length mirror located at the end of the short, seven foot long hallway.  I feel like this full length mirror must’ve been made just for me! Everytime I look at myself in this mirror I think, “Man, I look gooooood today!” or, “Wow, I’m looking sexy!” or, “I look soooo strong!”

Me in my most awesomest mirror finishing my Operation Beautiful extravaganza!

 

Now, have you ever had a mirror do that for you?  I’ll be honest, most mirrors do NOT do this for me, but I have also found that the mirrors at Victorias Secret make me feel pretty awesome, too.  Of course they want you to feel sexy!

So, I guess the conclusion of this post is that you have the choice of which mirrors to believe.  I choose to believe my lovely seventies-style full length mirror. What will I do when we move out of this place?!

This girls knows what’s up!

“I used to look in the mirror and feel shame, I look in the mirror now and I absolutely love myself.” ~Drew Barrymore

I couldn’t have said it any better, Jessica and Drew!

ang

7 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror…

  1. I came across your blog today and I was really happy to do so. I think you have a very unique and interesting blog to read.

    I have also previously displayed Jessica’s Affirmations on my blog (just started my blog and working on it). I see that little girl and all I can do is hope that we don’t lose that love for ourselves. She is seeing her own self in her own mirror and I like it. I find it easier to not focus on mirrors, but how I feel inside and the people around me.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I completely agree with you…Jessica has the best perspective on life and loving herself, and we all need to follow that lead!

Leave a Reply

