Mindfully Indulging

Do you ever watch those mushy, romantic, sappy movies, and at the end of them you wish that it would happen to you?  I used to compare my life to these movies all the time…A Walk To Remember, The Notebook, Titanic, Armageddon, Pearl Harbor…Ben Afflect take me away!

source

Last night, as I was sitting my my computer with my headphones on catching up on the latest episode of Grey’s Anatomy and America’s Next Top Model, drinking my delicious Landshark, I looked over at my husband on the couch who was intensely watching March Madness basketball and twittering on his iPhone at the same time, and I thought to myself, I am living out those movies!

What a fun adventure we are living out together!

(If you can’t tell already, I’m kind of obsessed with our photographer!)

But enough with my sappy love story.  On to the next subject…

I definitely have a guilty obsession watching America’s Next Top Model.  I haven’t missed an episode yet in all fifteen complete seasons, and I am currently updating myself with season sixteen on my computer (since we no longer have a DVR!)  I admit that I love watching ANTM, and if Tyra ever does another season for short girls, I will definitely tryout for the show.

source

However, part of me feels guilty for watching it, because in a lot of ways it promotes everything that I am kind of against.  I feel hypocritical for enjoying a television show that is somewhat promoting the idea of “super-skinny” is equal to beautiful and model-esque, while I am trying to promote the idea that everyone should feel beautiful!  I do believe that people should indulge in their guilty pleasures, so I allow myself to keep watching the show, but the episode I watched last night had a few things that rubbed me the wrong way…

First of all, the episode started out by talking about nutrition…a very important subject.  Tyra brought her nutritionist to talk to the contestants about making healthy choices when it came to “cheaties.”  Cheaties, as Tyra called them, are foods that you should only “indulge” in only on a few occasions.  One of these foods was a bagel with peanut butter spread.

source

I’m sorry, but I think if you want to have a bagel with peanut butter every morning, than that is okay!  It is a good source of carbohydrates (and we NEED carbs!), protein, and fat.  You just have to keep in mind what you eat the rest of the day.  (Disclaimer: I am by NO means a nutritionist or registered dietition, this is just my point of view from my experiences.)

I don’t like the idea of “cheaties” or splurges or anything of that nature.  I have fallen victim to that game too many times in my life.  Now I can open a bag of chips, eat a few, then put the bag away and save the rest for another day…instead of opening the bag and eating the entire bag because it is the one day a week I set aside to have a “cheatie.”  I believe that we should indulge in a healthy, moderate manner, and just be mindful of the wonderful foods we have the pleasure of tasting!

What do you think?

ang

6 thoughts on “Mindfully Indulging

  1. I liked reading your blog. I think Tom and I are living the Notebook movie…hopefully he will read to me and remind me of all the good things in our marriage! 😉 I have a tendency to “justify” my indulgences. I also promise myself that I will exercise a little extra the next day if I eat xy or z. There are days that I do not give it any thought, however, when you get to my age, you need to watch what is put into the mouth. Certain foods have a tendency to not sit well with my digestive system. 🙂 I do think it is better to allow your body a little something than to eat all of something at once and consider it a “cheatie”. (That is an ineresting term!). I think with all things, the key is moderation balanced with a healthy diet. Your blog was “food” for thought!

  2. I believe in living a healthy and balanced life : ) moderation is key! Dont deprive, it leads to unhealthy things : )

    I am LOVING those photos too! So sweet! I love seeing love ! Makes me happy! Have a great night girl! xoxo

  3. You guys are too cute!
    I can’t believe they say a bagel and pb is a cheatie food. If that is horrible, I can’t imagine some of the other foods.
    I haven’t watched it this season but I do like to watch ANTM. You can easily get sucked in, that’s for sure.

  4. Cute pics! I like ANTM too; I have to tell myself though that those girls are probably naturally that tall and slim (which is prob not really true). I do agree that there is nothing wrong with having PB and a bagel, for me, because I exercise a lot! It is a lot of calories though for someone who does not work out and who has to watch their weight for their job. I would defnitely not consider it a “cheat” though. Cheats are more like donuts and chocolate cake. It really is all about balance and some people just don’t get that.

Leave a Reply

