Grossness

I stepped in dog poo this morning…gross.

{Don’t try to act innocent, Tia, I know it belonged to you.}

…so far, it’s just been one of those days.

Today was the first day back to school since spring break and since receiving my devastating news.  I definitely did not want to go to class.  The thought of sitting through class sounded awful to me.  Yuck.  More grossness.  I had no motivation to go…but I went anyway.  It seemed like there were quite a few people feeling as distraught as I was…especially the “older” students like myself.  I’m sorry, but I just don’t think it’s fair to be selected, or not selected, for a nursing program based on what college you took your classes at.  That is not what I’d call “competitive.”

I’m not the type of person to stir up any commotion, even when I feel I’ve been wronged in some way, but I felt the need to speak up about this.  It hasn’t only affected me…I know that there were at least a couple other students in the same boat I was.  Last week I scheduled a meeting with the head of the nursing department to discuss this issue…the outcome?

“Sometimes things in life just aren’t fair, but we are being as “fair” as fair can be.”

Yuck, yuck, yuck.  Double grossness.

I was advised to write a letter to the committee that decides admission requirements…and I plan to do so, along with scheduling a meeting with the dean of the university.  I have accepted my outcome, I am just hoping something will change for other students in the future.  Meanwhile I am exploring other doors that may open for me.  This is not the end.

On to something else more positive!  Last night I was watching a movie on television with my husband.  I have a pet peeve against starting a movie in the middle…especially a movie that I have never seen before…but he was insisting.  I wasn’t really paying much attention to it, but there was a scene where these little boats were driving through a swamp trying to catch a bad guy.  The swamp was a weird shade of green and pretty icky looking…

source

…gross.

However…the swamp reminded me of a green monster and I started to crave one!  WOW…I can’t believe that I’d ever crave anything that contained SPINACH!  So, I made one and ate it for lunch after my wonderful meeting.

It was delicious!  Now I have to go finish getting ready to go shopping and meet up with my beautiful little sis for her birthday.  I’m set for a better second half of the day.

{end of grossness}.

ang

One thought on “Grossness

  1. Stepping in dog poop is definitely not a good way to start your day, haha. I was about 1 inch away from doing the same thing this morning when I was walking Bella, why doesn’t anyone in my neighborhood pick up their dogs crap? ugh

    Glad your day is going better! My friend in nursing school says her program is VERY political and she’s gotten held back from it too. It’s so unfair.

Leave a Reply

