‘Fraidy-Pants Friday

“Me? I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of what I saw, I’m scared of what I did, of who I am, and most of all I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you.” ~Baby, Dirty Dancing

I thought I’d start out this post with the lovely quote from Dirty Dancing.  Today’s post I’m going to list fifteen things that I am afraid of right now.  It’s kind of a weird list, but I wanted to get these off my chest since a lot of them are related to the weekend.  There are a lot of things (many that are unreasonable…like this one published here) that I am afraid of!

Number One: I am afraid that I will not complete my 10K tomorrow under sixty minutes.  I used to have sports dreams all the time that I was in slow motion and as hard as I tried I couldn’t move any faster…what if that happens?!  I know that I have trained very well, and I know that I am completely capable of making it happen…I just don’t want to disappoint myself if it doesn’t!

Number Two: This race has over 6,000 runners!  I’m sure that probably isn’t all that large compared to other races around the country, but it is WAY bigger than any of the races that I’ve ever done.  I’ve always been afraid of getting lost or separated from my group…like when I was little and shopping at the mall with my mom, I would be the one to flip out if I couldn’t find her!  How will I find my friends after the race?!?!  Maybe I should just have some sort of GPS device implanted in me so that they will always know where I am!

Number Three: What if when I’m running, I get too cold…or too hot.  What am I going to wear?  The last race I did I was absolutely freezing because I underdressed because I didn’t want to be too hot during the race.  It is supposed to be a beautiful day tomorrow…sunshine with a high of sixty-three (finally some sunshine…knock on wood), but what will the temperature be at 7:45am?  I know that I’m going to wear my new running capris…but what do I wear on top?  Long sleeves, a t-shirt, a jacket…?!?!

{So what do you think so far…are these fears unreasonable or normal?}

Number Four: It’s time for a weird one.  I am afraid of drains.  Yes, drains…and all different kinds of drains.  Sink drains.  Shower drains.  Pool drains.  Bath drains.  Sewer holes in the sides of roads.  Manholes. I get this weird anxious feeling inside my belly if I get too close to one.  In the shower, I have to tilt the shower head way up so that it sprays as far from the drain as possible.  Eek!

source

Number Five: While I’m on the subject of showers…I am also afraid of when the shower curtain sticks to my legs.  I just hate it when it blows in a just suctions itself to me…gross!

Number Six: While I did already speak to this in an older post, it is such a big fear that it must be discussed again.  I hate condiments and I literally fear them.  I was reminded of this yesterday when I went up to the concession stand and the baseball game that my hubby was coaching.  All along the counter where customers placed their orders, there sat ketchup, mustard, relish, horseradish, and all the other lovely {sarcasm} hotdog items.

Number Seven: This is kind of the same as number six, but I’m afraid of the frozen barbecue chicken in the freezer.  My hubby likes to eat it on his salads or by itself…but I usually have to cook it (i.e. microwave it), but I still hate the smell of it.  {Ridiculous…I know!}

Number Eight: I’m scared that I won’t do well on my next Microbiology exam.  This is a silly fear, because I am always scared…but I always do well.  The being scared just makes me study more…so I guess it’s good.

Number Nine: I’m afraid that I will run out of time.  There is way too much on my to-do list today…even though a lot of them are small, silly tasks.

Number Ten: Spiders.  Duh.

Number Eleven: Actually, all types of bugs.

Number Twelve: I am afraid of getting wrinkles!!!  I already have laugh lines (I guess if you’re gonna get wrinkles, those are the best kind), and I’m starting to see signs of crow’s feet!

Number Thirteen: I am afraid of turning twenty-six…for two reasons.  The first reason is that I really don’t like even numbers…I don’t know why…but having a two and a six in my age doesn’t sound like a good time.  The other reason is that it is on the downhill slope to thirty.  However, I do think the thirties are going to be good for me.

{I have a lot of weirdnesses about me…let me get a little more serious.}

Number Fourteen: I am afraid that I will be in school forever.  I do enjoy learning and being in college…but now that I know what I want to make out of my life and what career I want…I just want to get to it already.  Tying in with number thirteen, I am afraid that I will be thirty before I even get to BE a nurse.

Number Fifteen: …and tying in with number fourteen, I am afraid that I won’t be able to start a family as soon as I would like to.  I got married when I was twenty-two, and I had in my mind that I would be pregnant when I was twenty-five.  Well, I’m twenty-five now…NOT pregnant…and with all the changes we’ve made to our lives, we are not even close to being ready for a baby.  I know now that one of the reasons God put me on this earth was to be a nurse…to care for people…but I’ve ALWAYS known that I was meant to be a mother. I’m not very good at waiting.

What are you afraid of on this delightful Friday?!

ang

5 thoughts on “‘Fraidy-Pants Friday

  1. When it comes to races, layers are always key. I wore a jacket and gloves that I later tossed when it was warm during my half. During my 10K, I saw my sister mid race and tossed her my gloves. Better than being too cold.
    I am always afraid of not getting stuff done! I always have the longest to do lists!!

  2. oh lordy we have a lot of the same fears!!! except condiments…they’re so delicious! anyway, you will do AWESOME tomorrow! I feel like the actual race is the easy part…training is the hardest! it’s great too that it’s a big race because there will be tons of people cheering and lots of great energy! That really does help. That’s funny you have that dream about not being able to go faster, I have the same ones! What does that mean?! And by the way, I understand the getting older/still working on your career thing. im 27 and just now applying to physical therapy school. at least you found what you love and you’ll be great at it! ok sorry for the paragraph haha yay friday!

  3. Pingback: ‘Fraidy-Pants Friday Updates! |

  4. I loved reading about your fears…they are all understandable. I did not have my first child until I was 27 and my last when I was 32 or 33 (I forget, I am getting closer 40 and the mind goes! 😉 ) Oh, and I will be 41 when I finally graduate from college…guess I am a really late bloomer! Ha ha!! I guess my fears have always been more about my kids and doing the best job I can to raise them. I have a fear of failing as a mom. It has been almost 12 years and they are all still here, so far so good. Something about fear that I have learned is I can only grow from it. Now when it comes to snakes, spiders, or any kind of bugs (or birds…I hate birds!), there is nothing I can do about them, but as long as they keep their distance, I will let them live and I won’t go around screaming and running around in a circle like I do most of the time! 🙂 You will do great this weekend!

Leave a Reply

