Someday

If I think back about seven or eight years ago, I remember wondering when Matt would finally propose to me. We had been dating for awhile, we were both in love, and I couldn’t picture myself spending the rest of my life with anyone else. A couple more years after that, near the beginning of June 2007, I remember sitting in my aunt’s home office helping her design wedding albums for her clients. She asked me when it was going to be my turn…when was I going to get married?! I remember telling her probably never…I couldn’t picture Matt ever actually proposing to me. I wanted it to happen more than anything, I dreamed about it for the past several years, but I didn’t think it would actually in-real-life ever happen.

One week later on July 19th, 2007, the fifth year anniversary of our first date, he did it. He got down on his knee and asked me to marry him.

Once I was engaged, I remember thinking, gosh I can’t wait for my wedding day to get here!

Then I thought, I wish graduation day would get here already!

Then I thought, boy I can’t wait to buy a house. I just want my own already!

I remember my dad telling me to slow down. He reminded me of a Trace Adkins song Your Gonna Miss This. I told him he was wrong…that I was ready. I just wanted everything to happen RIGHT NOW!

I have all these dreams and ambitions, but it feels like they are never actually within reach. As much as I want something to happen right now, I know that I need to be patient. I believe that God helps shape our lives so that we will be ready for the next step…the next event…the next phase. It can be so hard to wait.

If you would have asked me five years ago what I’d be doing today…what my life would look like today…it would be nothing like my reality. But I’m am hopeful…

…someday I will be wearing a cap and gown (again) and be graduating with my BSN-RN.

…someday I will be a real-life nurse, and hopefully helping eating disorder patients.

…someday I will own a dishwasher again.

…someday I will be a mother. More than anything else in the world, I know that I was put in this world to be a mother.

…someday we will get a friend for Tia. He will be a big dog, maybe a chocolate lab with pretty blue eyes.

…someday I will learn how to cook…(more than frozen pizzas, noodles, or salsa.)

…someday we will sell our home.

…someday we will buy our next home (hopefully our last home!) It will be two stories tall with a beautiful and big front porch with a porch swing on a nice lot of land. Our children will run around the backyard with our cute doggies.

As much as a look forward to the future and what it holds, I wouldn’t want to miss anything in my present. I wouldn’t want to miss the education I will be receiving while in nursing school. I wouldn’t want to miss the actual experience of being pregnant (and making the hubs go for midnight ice cream runs…it will happen!) I wouldn’t want to miss the loud obnoxious singing my sister and I do together (all while tears stream down our face…we cry when we sing…thanks dad!) I wouldn’t want to miss any long and meaningful talks with my mother. I wouldn’t want to miss any of crazy night’s filled with impromptu dance parties with my friends. I wouldn’t want to miss any little Tia kisses. I wouldn’t want to miss the short daily phone calls with my dad. I wouldn’t want to miss any of the laughter and giggles exchanged between the hubby and myself when we are being silly together.

What do your todays look like. What do your somedays look like?

ang

8 thoughts on “Someday

  1. You are so awesome! I just love your positive outlook always ! Its how I live and I love positive energy, and thats why I love your blog and think you rock! Its the way to be!

    Ok I met Trace Adkins! he was awesome! I won a hot mom contest, I know so shamed, lol, and I got to go to his show and meet him, he had the song hot mama, so thats what the contest was about! lol! This was 4 years ago!

    Love ya girl! Your pup is ADORABLE!!

    • The funny thing is I was feeling like a real downer this morning because of all of this…then once I started thinking about it and how I was going to blog about it, I came up with all the good stuff! I’m so glad I started blogging, otherwise I’d probably still be feeling like a downer!
      Of course you would’ve won a hot mom contest! You are!!! How fun!

  2. This post is seriously amazing! I’m the same way – I want everything to happen now! But you’re so right–I wouldn’t want to miss anything that’s going on in the present while I dream about what will happen next!! ❤

  3. Great post girl! I totally have to remind myself of this all the time. We are not in charge…God is in the driver’s seat. I always tell my husband that we need to slow down and enjoy what we are doing RIGHT NOW rather than looking forward, whether it’s an hour or 5 years. We need to enjoy dinners out without wondering what we will do next. I am currently 34 weeks pregnant and have been trying to enjoy every step of my pregnancy rather than just constantly wishing for the birth of our sweet baby boy!

  4. Aw, I love this post, and I can *so* relate! I feel like I’ve been waiting for a “someday” to come for the past 4 years.. and that “someday” actually came for me last week. I’m still in shock, actually… but I’m so happy right now! I actually just wrote a post about it today… it took me a week for it to truly sink in and for me to reflect on it all. So right now, I am very content… but just like you, i have those “somedays” that i still dream about…. (and yes, getting engaged is probably the next “someday” i am dying to have happen!).

  5. This reminds me so much of how I am! I just want everything in life to happen immediately! I’m the most impatient person ever… my boyfriend reminds me of it all the time too (;

    I’ve heard that song before too. When I hear it now it reminds me of high school. I loved high school, mostly junior and senior year. I miss my friends from home dearly, and sometimes I wonder where the time went.

    Life’s really all about taking one step at a time and enjoying that step to the fullest. Good luck on your journey, and I enjoy reading your blog (;

  6. I am totally loving this post. You are awesome, girly! My somedays include a lot of the same things as you…being a mother, my perfect dream home, etc. Right now, my todays include everything I could want…even though sometimes it seems that life is tough and could be better. I have come to realize that it’s the experience that shapes you into the person you become and there would be no somedays without todays! 🙂

  7. this is such a great reminder. i’m the same way. i’m always thinking of things i can’t wait for, and have countdowns in my head for things like vacations or weddings. its so easy to forget that today is important too! i need to work on realizing that it’s just not the destination but the journey as well. thanks for that reminder, happy Friday!!

Leave a Reply

