Marathon Training Week 2 – Check!

Time flies! I can’t believe that I’ve already finished two weeks of training for my marathon! Actually, week two isn’t completely finished, but tomorrow is a rest day (a.k.a. my first time ever going to a winery!), and Sunday is a cross training day, but that will be simple (and hopefully I can talk my hubby into joining me!).

It is a beautiful day today, so I decided to take my run outside!

Unfortunately, I do not know the roads very well in my town, and I have an unreasonable fear of being hit by a car or kidnapped, so I decided to take my run down to the track at the university.

Today was my “long run” of the week…seven miles. (Today this seems like a long run…in a few weeks when I’m running anywhere from ten to twenty miles, seven will seem easy!) I was nervous going into this because I feel like I’ve lost some of my endurance since I took a little bit of time off after my half marathon, but it actually felt really good!

But let me tell you…twenty-eight laps feels like forever on a track.

Around and around and around and around…..

…..and around and around and around and around!

I was really happy with how it went. I finished seven miles just under sixty-six minutes. This was probably my best run of my marathon training so far, and I think my muscles are finally getting back to normal. I still think I need a foam roller though!I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! I’m looking forward to my weekend! I have lots of fun stuff in store that I can’t wait to share with you all!

ang

9 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 2 – Check!

  1. You are a heartier woman than I, circling a track for seven miles. Do you ever get knee pain from going around the curves? I think there is something wrong with my form, because the track always gets to my usually pain-free knee. Good luck with your marathon training!

    • It was better than my usual runs on the treadmill just staring at the screen! I haven’t noticed any knee pain, but I have only ran the track a few times. Thank you!

  2. Omg i cant believe you ran all those miles on the track!!! You are much stronger mentally than I am I know I would have been like I am over it!! Have a great weekend lovely!

  3. I am sooo excited that I found your blog. I start my first marathon training in a few weeks and it looks like you are ahead of me (therefore I can learn from you). I also should invest in a foam roller so far I have been usuing my rolling pin…double duty!

    • I’m glad you found me too! Good luck with your training! I am brand-new to marathon running, so I really don’t know what I’m doing!

  4. I stole a foam roller from my xc coach senior year… it’s in my room.. Shh!! (;

    Seven miles is great! That seems like a lot to me. Especially on a track?! How did you do it?! I can’t stand to run more than a mile on a track… It drives me insane running around and around. I can run on a treadmill because it forces me to keep pace, or outside because I’m moving. But running in a circle is not my forte.

    Keep up the great work girl!

  5. holy smokes!! seven miles on a track seems borderline insufferable! WAY TO GO! i think i’d almost prefer to run 7 miles on a treadmill! at least the tv scenery changes. 🙂

    you should check out mapmyrun.com for different routes people have posted in your area – i love not having to map it out myself and borrowing someone elses. users also leave comments about what kind of route it is (paved, trail, well lit, urban, etc). super easy to use!

Leave a Reply

