Make-A-Wish Walk For Wishes

Now finally…let’s talk about my weekend festivities!

It started out the same as many of my weekend festivities do…I checked into Chateau Habermehl around midnight on Friday night. Luckily, I’ve stayed here so many times that I am able to come in without waking the owners! 😉

I woke up bright and early around 5:00am because we were volunteering at an amazing event that morning…Walk For Wishes benefiting the Make-A-Wish Foundation’s Missouri chapter. My girlfriends and I were on the food and beverage committee!

Ashley, Casey, and Heather in our little tent!

We provided water, apples, and bananas before the walk…

…and more water and boxed lunches after the walk! The weather was beautiful, and the walkers were thirsty! We ran out of water and had to go out and buy more!

(Thank you to all the companies who donated food and water!)

There were several teams with Wish Kids that were walking that raised over a thousand dollars for our local Make-A-Wish Foundation. The money raised is used to help grant the wishes of our locals kids.I spoke with a walker whose team had created a t-shirt for the event. The back of the shirt had a Bible verse…Psalms 118, verse 17:

I will not die; instead, I will live to tell what the LORD has done.

The walker then went on to tell me that today was exactly one month since her wish kid had passed away. It is in these moments when I realize just how lucky I am, and I am grateful to be healthy and to have a healthy family. I feel blessed to be a part of an amazing organization that helps touch the lives of these children.

Photo shoot! Heather, Casey, Ashley and me!

I just signed up to be a Wish Granter for a Wish Kid in my town. I have never granted a wish yet, and I am super excited to get to be a part of it!

As sad as it can be, I know it will be so exciting to be able to put a smile on a child’s face. It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy (and like I want to cry!) inside!

ang

6 thoughts on “Make-A-Wish Walk For Wishes

  1. Pingback: If It Wasn’t Meant To Be, Then It Wouldn’t Have Been |

Leave a Reply

