A Life Too Blessed For One Girl

This week’s chapter, Coorporation and Appreciation, from The Girls From Ames was a lot about family, and family is so utterly important to me. I am so grateful to have grown up in such a loving home and to have such amazing relationship with my mom…

…like Jane, I can imagine her saying, “I want them (my kids) to become happy, fulfilled women who feel a sense of pride in themselves.” Her happiness and pride for Maggie and me was/is contagious, and she has always made us feel like the two smartest, most beautiful girls in the world. She has a humble smile and a spark in her eyes when she looks at us. I think she can look at us and know she’s done a wonderful job raising us. I hope she knows.

Because I’m not a mom yet, I cannot give myself a grade on motherhood like the girls from Ames did in this chapter. I’ve always been somewhat of a perfectionist, and I rarely accept anything less than an A. I know, though, that when the time comes and I have the opportunity to be a mom, if I put in just half the love, caring, determination, dedication, and hard work that my mom put in, an A will be a walk in the park. When I look back and think of everything she did for my sister and I, I almost can’t believe it. A+ for you mom.

I have a beautiful relationship with my dad…

…as mentioned in the book, studies show that most men would prefer to have sons. I know my husband has dreams of raising boys and coaching them to become  team of elite, professional athletes (which is why I’m pretty sure we’ll be having all girls!). However, I think for my dad it was different. I don’t actually know, because I never asked him if he ever wanted to have a son, but the way he interacts with Maggie and me made me believe that God meant for him to have girls. I think from the second I was born he fell completely head over heels.

Like the girls’ husbands and daughters, I think my dad and I also bonded a lot through activities. I can remember when I was younger (and had dreams of playing in the WNBA…true story) my dad and I would play game after game of one on one basketball in the driveway. He made me feel like I was really good by letting me beat him over and over. Thanks pops.

And then there’s my sister…

…she is my best friend.

When we were little, though, I kind of considered her a bully! I mean, she hit me with barbies, made my nose bleed, and threw spoons at my friends! She was always grounded for doing something bad, while I was a perfectly-behaving princess. 🙂

As we have grown a little bit older, we have also grown so much closer. I think Jane wishes are right on when she says, “…and most importantly, I want them (her daughters) to really love each other. I always say to them, ‘Friends come and go, but you always have your sister.'” As I’ve come and gone through different stages of my life, my group of friends have always come and gone, as well. I will admit that a lot of that is my own fault, just not staying in touch well enough. But through everything, my sister has been there. Everything.

We don’t talk or see each other quite enough for our liking, but when we do get that quality time, we can stay up for hours on end just talking. I think we “get” each other in a way that many people just don’t understand.

Now those were just the people who were put in my life without a choice! You all probably get tired of reading about it, but I still cannot truly put into words how lucky I am to have found the perfect person to spend the rest of my life with and someday start a family with.

Like the girls, I’ve thought a lot about what it takes to make a marriage last forever. I like all their line of questioning…”How does he make me feel about myself…how attentive he is…the quality of life he brings to my family.”

Well, he tells me how smart and pretty I am about a million times a day, he still gives me butterflies when I see him, and I am always ecstatic when he comes home…so I’d say I caught a good one! 😉

And as always with The Girls From Ames, this chapter placed a lot of emphasis on the importance of friendship.

I mentioned earlier how my friends have always come and gone throughout my life. I truly believe now that I am in a place where my friends now are friends for life. These beautiful girls are always there for me, waiting to lift me up, give me hope, make me laugh, or just make me feel awesome in general! I have also had the opportunity recently, living in a new town, to make new friends…something I’ve always been somewhat afraid of.

Also mentioned in the chapter is an organization called “Girlfriends For Life,” an organization that emphasizes how important women’s relationships are in times of depression or crisis. I think they put it just right when they say,

“Sometimes the only think keeping a woman from falling over is the girlfriend right beside her.”

Thanks Zaslow and the girls from Ames for another delightful week of reading, and reminding me how important everyone is in my life.

I live a life too blessed for one girl.

ang

3 thoughts on “A Life Too Blessed For One Girl

  1. Pingback: Kelly and Me. Me and Kelly. |

Leave a Reply

