Hello August

August is one of my favorite months of the year! It used to be my absolute favorite, but my anniversary in July has made a move to number one in my heart. I love the overwhelming amount of sunshine (although it is not the best conditions for running…and I’m kind of over the record straight days of 100+ degrees), my birthday is in August, and it just seems like to most fun happens in August (however, my husband and friends might not agree since they have to go back to work in August)!

I have a ridiculous amount of things to look forward to this month, but first, look how July ended with a bang!

I completed my first eighteen mile long run last Saturday! And it was the best long run I have had yet this training period! I took it pretty slow, but was able to make it through with only minimal knee pain! I want to give a big thanks to the W.O.W. ladies for making the first twelve miles fly by!

Now, hello August!

I have Susan G. Komen 5K Race for the Cure that I’m running in honor of my momma who beat breast cancer’s booty. My mom, along with her hubby, is also participating in the one mile walk for the cure, and my sister and her boyfriend are also doing the 5K! I’m so happy and proud of all of them! This is also the 5K that my hubs agreed to run with me…or should I say against me! We are pretty competitive people, so we have a bet on who will win…it should be a close race! (Wish me luck against those 6’8″ legs!!!)

I have my first and only twenty mile long run coming up in August. I actually think this comes before the Susan G. Komen 5K, which might hinder my chances of beating the hubs, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it. You might think I’m crazy for putting this on the list of things that I’m excited for in August, but I am excited for it in a weird-I-hope-I-don’t-die-before-my-race-but-won’t-it-feel-awesome-to-finish kind of way.

I have the Katy Perry concert that my girlfriends bought me tickets to for my early birthday present! Mind you, this will be my first concert since I was in love with the Backstreet Boys, N’Sync, 98 Degrees, and LFO. I’m so excited!

I have my twenty-sixth birthday, which at first I wasn’t at all excited for because of the fact that I don’t like even numbers, so I didn’t like the thought of being twenty-six. Then I realized something. A marathon is twenty-six (point two) miles. How neat is it that I get to run my first twenty-six miles just a week after I turn twenty-six years old?! Pretty. Darn. Neat. (In case you forgot…I am a dork.)

Which brings me to the next thing I have to look forward to this month…my VERY FIRST MARATHON! I can’t believe it is so soon…I am getting more and more excited (and more and more nervous) each day! I am so glad that I will have my girlfriends there running the marathon relay and my hubby and family there cheering me on! My mom told me she was buying poster board this week to make signs for me! I’m sure it is going to be just amazing (let’s just hope these 100 degree days go away before the 27th!)

And August has already started off great. Slowly but surely I’m getting the hubs to run more and more with me (I think he’s a bit nervous I’m actually going to beat him at the 5K!), and today he made two big accomplishments…the first was that he woke up before 6am with me to get in a morning run…and the second was that he ran his first five mile run! Before this morning he had never ran further than a 5K!

Go Matty!

I really enjoy our time running together. We don’t necessarily say much, but it feels so nice to have his company doing something I have started to love so much.

What is making your August amazing?

ang

4 thoughts on “Hello August

  1. OMG, I can feel the increase of nervousness every day! My first marathon isn’t until fall, so I am more or less calm in the hard work part of training, but I know I will feel the same. Crossing my fingers for you!!! Concerning your August excitement question, in this moment I am excited the most for my new New Balance running skirt with pink ribbon Susan G. Kore for the cure, can’t wait to run out in it đŸ™‚

  2. your a pretty cute dork! I hope it cools down for your marathon day because if it doesnt I will be worried about you the entire time. Its not safe for man or beast outside!~!!! OR WOMAN! please run safely. Love to you always
    ME

  3. Ang…I know that you will do unbelievably AMAZING on your marathon! I am praying for better weather for you and a positive mindset! Mind over matter will get you thru the run! My August is AWESOME because I get to see my momma and the rest of the Missouri girls on Friday! I miss you pretty girl! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

