Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

Did you know I ran in a race last weekend?

Yep, that’s right. I ran a 5K! It was supposed to be the competition between my husband and me, but we decided a few days before just to run it for fun…especially since there were over 30,000 people registered for the race!

We woke up very early, loaded up the car, and headed toward Kansas City! We stopped to pick up our friends and made it to the race sight just in time to scavenger to find a bathroom and make it to the race start. I was so worried about making it there in time, especially with so many people, but of course I had to stop and have our picture taken!

He loves me!

This race was very special to me because my mother battled breast cancer eleven years ago, and I thank God every day that she kicked it’s booty!

Somehow we made it near the front of the pack before the race started, and before we knew it we were off! It was the perfect weather for a race, especially considering the fact that it’s mid-August! Running through downtown was absolutely beautiful and it got me really excited to be running my marathon through the sames streets. There were bands on every corner, and there were several times I wanted to stop and start dancing! (The other racers probably wouldn’t have appreciated that!)

I was feeling amazing as the tenths of miles just kept passing by.  There were a few times the hubs told me to go on ahead of him, but all the fun of this race was running with him! After twenty-seven minutes and thirty-one seconds we crossed the finish line together, and he officially finished his very first 5K race! (I’m working on getting him to run a half mary now! Ha, wish me luck!)

Go Matty! (He probably wouldn’t be too happy I posted this picture! 🙂 Good thing he doesn’t read this!)

After we finished we headed back to watch all the thousands of people cross through the finish line, and especially to find these three people…

…Rob, my momma, and my sister! They all did the 5K also!

I am so proud of all of them for participating and completing the race! My mom looked especially ravishing sporting her special Susan G. Komen survivor t-shirt!

It was truly a special event…at the finish volunteers handed out a pink rose to all of the survivors…and let me tell you, there were tons of ladies in pretty pink survivor shirts throughout the entire race.

It was just so good to see so many people of all ages, races, sex, ability, ect. coming together for an amazing cause. It truly strengthens one’s hope in humanity. So inspiring!

And again, more so than running the race with the goal of setting a new personal record, I was just so excited to get to experience this with my husband by my side and with my family there, too! I am so proud!

The hubs and I still will compete in a 5K, we are just going to pick a later date and hopefully a little bit smaller race! I think he’s a little more nervous now, though!

ang

6 thoughts on “Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure

  1. Hooray for YOU! I just registered for my first Run for the Cure, and I am so excited about it. All of those people coming together to run so our daughters won’t have to fear this thing…. Okay, so I’m crying (again). Thank you for sharing your race day story. I can’t wait!

  2. Pingback: Two Thousand and Eleven, It’s Been Lovely |

Leave a Reply

