A Serious Lack of Motivation

If you came here for motivation today, I am sorry to disappoint.

It’s after noon…

…and I still have my pajamas on. I just now finished my newest breakfast obsession, two slices of cinnamon toast. I still have a few sips of coffee left in my cup. I’m trying to decide if cleaning my car would count as a workout for today. I’m trying to decide if I even want to clean my car or if I’d rather snuggle up on my hubby’s new recliner and watch a movie. (Currently the latter is winning.)

Aside from creating a new snazzy blog header this morning, it seems pretty obvious that I am extremely lacking in the motivation department.

I’m trying to figure out the reason why I have no motivation today. I mean, it’s a beautiful day…the sun is shining and there’s a cool breeze. It’d be the perfect day for a nice run. I’ve had the biggest urge to do some strength training. Tia would love to go for a walk with me. I could start reading a new book, I could go to the library and find a new book, I could go to the store and pick up a few items that we’ve been needing around the house, I could do some designing, I could finish hanging decorations in my house. So why not just do it?!

I think part of my reason for having no motivation is because I am disappointed that I am not in school right now. I know this may sound crazy to many of you, but I love feeling like I am challenging myself by learning something new.

Even though I’ve dealt with the fact that I am not starting nursing school right now…a big part of me still feels like I should be.

I have such big dreams of being a nurse…and becoming a mother, and maybe someday building a house, and all these things…but for right now I’m just stuck where I am. I can’t move forward until I am in school…and until I finish school. I am twenty-six years old and I was hoping to be a mom by the time I was twenty-five. I know I’m still young and that I have plenty of time, but it is something that Matt and I have always known we wanted. It is harder than ever now because I can see how much Matt wants to start a family. He has always been the more apprehensive one…the one with the “five-year plan” and the one who needs all his ducks in a row. He is waiting on me now. Our future little curly-haired baby is waiting on me.

But I know that God has a reason for everything, and I really am trying my hardest to be patient. I know that our future will be beyond wonderful…that’s just why I want to be there already.

I’ve always had the most difficult time dealing with my not-so-happy feelings…just trying to cover them up with something more cheerful. I do have many positive things going on in my life…like my handsome and caring husband…but it does feel nice to get that off my chest. I do want this to be a motivational blog, but I think it can only be genuine if I am honest with my own feelings. It’s normal to feel disappointment sometimes. It’s okay to feel disappointment. Yes, Angela, it’s okay.

I think another part of my problem is a lack of a routine. And luckily, this is something that I can change right now! So what’s my plan? Wake up at a decent time and finish my workout (if I have one planned for the day). If I don’t have a workout planned or don’t feel like working out then I will take my pretty baby Tia for a walk. After working out then I will set aside time to blog and read blogs. This always makes for a nice, positive start to any day. After blogging I will do whatever needs to be done for the rest of the day.

I think a new planner is in order and would be a great way to turn this lack of motivation problem upside-down! Maybe I will go shopping today after all!

I need your help! How do you turn your lack of motivation upside-down?

ang

3 thoughts on “A Serious Lack of Motivation

  1. I get in ruts where the amount of to-do’s (short and long term) get so overwhelming I just shut down and can’t tackle any of it, rather than chipping away bit by bit like I know I need to. It’s exhausting thinking about all the big stuff, when there’s so much little stuff in the way. Make a weekly list, a daily list, focus on small bits, and relish in the pride of those check marks. I agree a routine is a great way to start, and totally co-sign on a little shopping trip for a cute new planner 🙂

  2. I’m really glad you blogged this out, my dear. Sometimes that’s all it takes to organize your thoughts and to better understand why you are feeling what you are feeling. And it’s totally OK to share that with us – the not-so-motivational thoughts you might be having on a particular day. You’re human, it’s ok not to always be 100% happy or optimistic all the time, you know? I think you’re being too hard on yourself my friend. Sending you a virtual hug…that always helps me when I’m feeling down. Hope it helps 🙂

  3. Pingback: Racing Spur of the Moment |

Leave a Reply

