Dear Tyra, Let’s Change Body-Type Stigma

I have an obsession for America’s Next Top Model. Okay. There. I said it. I’ve seen every episode of every season at least two times (and some episodes in the range of ten times.)

I think it’s pretty obvious that I love competition. That’s just my nature. And, I’ve secretly always had this desire to be a model. Ridiculous, right?

(See, I can be a model…I’m smizing, right? Is this smizing? Maybe this is too literal with too much mouth and teeth. And um…what a great male model to be posing with…ooh lah lah!)

Well, this may only sound ridiculous because society has put a body-type stigma on models. A model has to be at least 5’7″…I mean, that is the minimum height requirement to even tryout to be a contestant for America’s Next Top Model. (It was a sad day for me when the ANTM crew came to Kansas City this year and it wasn’t for a “short girl” season.) Society also has put a weight stigma on models. Models should be “thin” (in quotations for a reason) and if you are not “thin” then you cannot be a model or you could be a plus-size model, which from what I’ve seen looks pretty much like an average person.

Please don’t get me wrong…I am not putting down models or modeling in any way! I love models (especially this former one!), I can’t get enough ANTM, I drool while watching the Victoria’s Secret runway show every year, and I’ve always had the desire to be in front of a camera. What I am getting at is the fact that the world has created a stigma on how a model should look.

Which leads to our own body dissatisfaction.

My own body dissatisfaction.

I am grateful, however, that at this point in my life I have the knowledge and skills to understand that it’s just a stigma. I love all five foot three and however many pounds of me. I cannot change what God created to fit into a stigma that the world created…and I don’t want to anymore.

By golly, if I’m ever going to be on America’s Next Top Model, it will be because Tyra Banks has decided to do a season on girls of any shape or size or height or weight or ethnicity who cherish their bodies and who have a determination to change the world’s (yes, even the fashion industry’s) emphasis on body-types.

Tyra, are you reading this? (Mr. Jay…Ms. Jay…anyone?!) Hi, my name is Angela. I’m 5’3″ and want to be on your show! I will even cut my hair for you if you want…or dye it, or curl it, or even wear a weave! My husband might never talk to me again, but if it’s in the name of eliminating body-type stigma, then I’m in! I promise! Please and thank you!

(Okay, now this is smizing.)

ang

 

7 thoughts on “Dear Tyra, Let’s Change Body-Type Stigma

  1. You are beautiful!! Love those pics! Are they recent just for fun ones? Or engagement ones from past, either way , I LOVE!!

    And you can model , I did, Im only 5’3 1/2 ! I did promotional , glamour, bikini, I just was never tall enough for runway of course!

    LOVE your new header, I just saw like you just noticed mine! xoxo ❤

  2. Totally agree with you – there are far too many stigmas in society of what is acceptable to call “beautiful.” Why can’t we each be beautiful in our own way? I’m 5’3″ too and guess what? Short can be beautiful too. It’s all a matter of perspective…just so sad that our society is so built up on/stuck on labels and definitions and anything outside of that just doesn’t “fit” or belong in that mold. I think you are beautiful and would make a gorgeous model!!

  3. You’re GORGEOUS!!!! You could totally model….I see you in like fresh skin care commercials and stuff 😉 I always cursed my height of 5’9 3/4 but I have been told more than ever to get out and model….ummm…a 30 year old model? Should have done it 8 years ago!

    Your pics are scrumptious!
    xxoo

  4. You’re beautiful and could DEFINITELY be a model 🙂 maybe you should try the occasional blue steel face?? 😉 hahaha

Leave a Reply

