“It’s How You Take That Middle Ground and Run With It”

I look forward to every Thursday night, after my husband falls asleep of course, to hear Heidi Klum’s sweet voice tell another designer, “Auf Wiedersehen,” which in turn ends that designer’s dreams of making it to fashion week. I’m definitely no fashion designer myself, but I like to think that I have a good eye for aesthetics, and I love watching a television show where the contestants get to be ridiculously creative.

After watching last night’s episode, Anthony Ryan really got me thinking.

source

Anthony Ryan is a cute little designer from Baton Rouge, Louisianna, who was unfortunately eliminated from the show last night. During his exit interview he said something that really struck a chord with me…

My entire life I have strived to be the very best. Not just my very best…The.Very.Best. To me that meant that I needed to be the prettiest, the smartest, the skinniest, the fastest…and anything else I could add “-est” to the end of. Then, of course, this always ended up in disappointment because in all my life I was never any of those things. I tried very hard and got pretty darn close, but I was never the “best.”

Duh. That’s because I was missing the point.

source

I don’t need to be the best ever at anything. I just need to do my best at everything.

I’m not the smartest person in the world, but I’m going to continue to learn and hopefully be a great nurse someday soon. I’m never going to be the thinnest person, and quite honestly, I don’t want to be anymore. I’m perfectly happy with my body. And I’m never going to be the fastest runner. It’s easy to get caught up comparing yourself to someone else…even here in the blog world where we all like to share our workouts, distances, and times.ย ย I’m definitely not going to set new records for any distances, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to stop trying to set new PRs for myself!

…it’s how you take the middle ground and run with it.”

While I may never reach the status of the best at anything I do, I can keep on trying my best, and the limits of my own capabilities will continue to expand. I will take Anthony Ryan’s advice and take my own delightful middle ground and run with it!

ang

11 thoughts on ““It’s How You Take That Middle Ground and Run With It”

  1. OMG this was a total spoiler for me..hehe I haven’t watched the show yet, but I still can’t wait to see it! Hubby (I got him hooked! lol) and I watch it together and I love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great quote girl!

  2. such great insight ang!

    part of why i love racing is because i’m competitive with myself………… even though sometimes i get caught up in chicking guys ๐Ÿ™‚ can’t help it!

  3. I love this! We don’t need to be perfect. and definitely not the skinniest, who needs that BS lol. I struggled with tons of Mrs. Perfect and living in the black and white. I like the middle ground too and living in the grey!

  4. I’m sorry, I have to point this out…..you’re is spelled wrong in your quote!!!!!!

    While I’m here, I feel I should also point out that to ME and to MANY OTHERS you always WERE the best…the prettiest, and the smartest. You were always everything I wished I was. This is why I had a hard time accepting and understanding your eating disorder. I always felt like I was so much less than you and when I realized how you felt about yourself I thought–gee, what must she think of me???? While I do, now, understand eating disorders and understand that wasn’t your thought process at all, I still have a hard time reading posts like this as you talk about how you were never the best. Maybe you weren’t the best in your eyes, but you always were in mine–and in mom’s, and dad’s. and Matt’s, and every other person that loves you like we do.

    • I don’t know what you’re talking about…”you’re” spelled wrong? Just kidding, I fixed it…I can’t believe I did that, it’s one of my pet peeves!!!
      Thank you sis, I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

