Big Envelope

It came! That big envelope I have been hoping for. Dreaming of. Fearing not getting.

I had pretty much convinced myself that it wouldn’t come and that the other school I was already accepted to was the best choice. I checked the mail Saturday afternoon with no real enthusiasm or optimism. That’s when I saw it under the smaller envelopes.

A big envelope.

Now wait, Angela. Don’t get your hopes up. We have received many larger envelopes lately, mostly relating to health insurance or the husband’s retirement plan (or whatever all those papers are).

I nonchalantly reached in and pulled the mail out. I looked through the stack of bills before I dared glance at the big envelope.

It was from the University of Central Missouri. That’s when I knew.

I didn’t jump up and down or scream or cry or giggle. I didn’t immediately run back inside to tell my husband or call my mom or dad. I just wanted to sit with the satisfaction that finally, my hard work paid off.

As excited as I am about being accepted, now I am in a much different predicament than I was in the spring. Now I have a choice. A decision to make. A hard one.

There are so many pros and cons for each school…time, money, time away from my husband, timing of trying to have our first baby! These aren’t little things…these are HUGE things (especially the baby one)! It’s going to be a tough decision.

I plan on sitting down and completing the pros and cons list that you see above. I need to do a lot of talking with the husband, researching, and praying. I think the decision will ultimately be made by whichever way my heart pulls me.

But whatever I choose, the best thing about all of this is that I will be a nurse someday soon. It’s reality. It’s a dream coming true.

And it’s definitely a reason to celebrate!

ang

7 thoughts on “Big Envelope

  1. Congrats on your acceptance! Big envelopes always mean good news!!

    I’m a RN, so I might be a little biased, but I’d really encourage you to do it! I don’t think you necessarily have to push your other life goals aside. Several girls in my cohort had babies while in school. I mean, it’s not easy but it’s do-able. They would bring their babies to classes somedays!! And as far as the cost… You will definitely get a return on your investment once you finish. Best of luck with your decision! 🙂

  2. Congratulations!! I think you’ve got the right way to figure out which is the best choice – I was faced with a similar decision with a job offer that kind of fell into my lap. It was a great opportunity but after a lot of thinking and meditation, my heart told me it wasn’t the right choice for me right now. Your hear will tell you what your next move is. Whatever it is will be the right one! 🙂 Congrats again!

  3. Pingback: Well Hello There November |

  4. I know exactly how you felt on that day! I just got accepted to nursing school, too!!! I can’t wait for the adventure to begin! Good Luck, and I’ll be stopping by your blog to see how things are going!
    THF

Leave a Reply

