Achievable and Challenging

I think there is a great importance to setting goals. Before volleyball games, I had my girls come up with goals as a team and come up with individual goals. At the beginning of the season someone would say, “Our goal should be to do good.” Well, that’s a given! I then explained to them that our goals needed to be measurable. We need to be able to actually see if we achieve them.

Once the girls grasped that concept someone would suggest, “Our goal should be to have no missed serves.” This seems like a great goal, however, these are middle school girls…and for many serving was not yet their strong suit. I had to explain that our goals need to be achievable. Then someone would blurt out, “Okay then, only ten missed serves.” Ten?! We’d surely lose the game is we missed that many serves. I then explained that our goals need to be achievable, yes, but also challenging.

Ooooohhh.

So for this month, I am setting some very measurable, achievable, and challenging goals for myself.

1. Decide which nursing school I will attend.

Obviously I need to make this decision because I’ll be enrolling in classes soon! Aaahhh! I am so excited to start school, I just can’t say it enough! I am definitely feeling a pull toward one school, but I’m not ready to make a definite decision. Soon, though!

2. PR on November 20th in my second ever half marathon.

I finished my last (first) half marathon in one hour, fifty-nine minutes, and ten seconds. I so want to beat this!

3. Finish my second ever half marathon in one hour and fifty-five minutes.

Yes, I’ll be happy with any PR, but to really challenge myself I want to finish 1.55:xx. I know that for so long (marathon training) I was focused on mileage rather than speed, so for the past couple of weeks I’ve really been trying to get faster!

4. Cook (3 meals a week and two great Thanksgiving sides). Read (1 book). Make (3 things from Pinterest).

5. Smile 334,918,374,918,327,419,834,719,238,471,903,248,102 times!

How are you challenging yourself this month?!

ang

11 thoughts on “Achievable and Challenging

  1. My boyfriend is a tennis instructor and he always tells funny stories about his students trying to come up with goals. Kids are funny. ^_^ Congratulations about nursing school. That’s really exciting! -=]

    Good luck with all your goals! Can’t wait to read about them. =]

  2. I love this, your goals are really brilliant 🙂
    I’m sure that you’ll achieve them all – you have such a great attitude and seem really determined!
    Favourite of your goals? The smile one, you’re so cute!

  3. I’m excited for your next race — you can TOTALLY make that PR!!! I’d LOVE one day to do a sub-2 hr half marathon…maybe that’ll be my own goal after the full marathon I’m SO excited to do next fall 😉 (thanks in large part to your inspiring marathon journey!!)

  4. Pingback: Can’t Make Up My Mind |

  5. Pingback: It’s Basketball Season |

  6. Pingback: Fa La La La La La La La La |

Leave a Reply

