Oh-My-Goodness Hardcore

It’s raining here…and it’s in the thirties. I never said I liked the cooler temps, did I? What, I did? Well, let me take that back now. Silly me.

I had a date this morning with the running group…a date that I promptly canceled (in my head) and rescheduled with the lonely treadmill for later this afternoon. I hope that the other girls had the same thought process, too, so that they weren’t waiting for me in the freezing drizzle. The truth is, last night when I checked the hour by hour weather and saw that there was still a 70% chance of precipitation at 5:00am, I didn’t even set my alarm. That is when I rescheduled today’s sweat session appointment. Sorry gals.

I have run in the rain before…for a race, nonetheless…and I didn’t like it. But I probably need to toughen up and tough it out. I mean, that’s what the hardcore, win-the-race, most awesome runners do. Run. Rain or shine. Sleet or snow. Oh wait, or is that just mail people? Or both. I bet it goes for both.

It is possible to be hardcore on the treadmill, though. I may have questioned this before, but I have seen the hardcore-ness of a runner on a treadmill in action. Let’s rewind to my marathon training days. Once again I had put off my morning run, but this time I had to resort to the treadmill at the college gym based on the heat of the summer day. I set up my machine with water and Gu, set my pace on 6.3mph and went on my way to reach nine beautiful miles.

I thought I was pretty hardcore.

Behind me in the corner of my eye I saw someone else running. It was a man wearing a very official looking red singlet and runners shorts. It’s easy to spot running shorts on a man because they weren’t down to his knees. Picture it with me. He looked like the type you’d see breaking records at Boston. He was running fast, and it motivated me to keep going…and to my benefit, keep raising my pace.

After about two miles into my run, my husband came over to check on me and upon arrival whispered to me, “Did you see that guy behind you?!” I confirmed, still feeling stellar from the 6.5mph displayed on my screen. Then what the husband said almost made me fall down right then and there on my machine. Almost.

“He’s running at 11.0mph!!!”

Okay, so my 6.5 was pretty hardcore. His 11.0 was oh-my-goodness hardcore, the win-the-race, I’m-going-to-blow-you-out-of-the-water, I’ll-see-you-on-my-cool-down-lap, breaking records kind.

Maybe someday I’ll be half that cool. For now, I’m perfectly happy running three easy miles at 6.3mph this afternoon! 🙂

ang

2 thoughts on “Oh-My-Goodness Hardcore

  1. I wish I was as cool as you! I tried doing 6.0mph last night… I only lasted a mile! Then went back to my 4.8-5.0 mph. =] So you’re definitely cool in my book. (I don’t know if that means much…)

    I can of do the same thing as you… If someone next to me in the gym is going hard/burning more calories than me… I push myself a little harder to so I can feel a little better about myself. LOL

  2. Pingback: Can’t Make Up My Mind |

Leave a Reply

