A Paper Surprise

Over the weekend I celebrated my best friend’s birthday (twenty-sixth, right?!) with a lovely surprise party planned by her husband and parents. I, along with another sweet friend, was assigned the fun task of providing decorations for the party.

Well, if you’ve been reading this blog at all you probably know that I’m going back to school. Going back to school equals being poor for the rest of your life. Being poor equals the need to get creative. Thank goodness Pinterest is free.

All the decor was created with paper, yarn, paint, cans, wooden sticks, and a little bit of rhinestone bling. Combine that with a hot glue gun, sand, a sewing machine, and some tape and you got yourself a party.

I arrived early to set up all the decor before the guests, especially the guest of honor, got there. I’m sure that I got many strange stares from the diners and servers as I stood atop the barstools to reach the ceiling. This was just the first time of many that I truly missed my 6’8″ handsomeness who was unable to celebrate with us.

When the guest of honor arrived she seemed completely shocked and surprised, and I’m pretty sure that she shed a tear when she saw me there. It was difficult to keep the secret all week when all I wanted to do was tell her how excited I was to be coming in town to see her!

It was a fabulous night.

Today is her actual birthday, and I’m so happy that she came into this world, umm…twenty-three(?) years ago, and that she came into my life four years ago. Happy birthday H.

ang

2 thoughts on “A Paper Surprise

    • Oh my goodness, they were super easy to make! Just cut out a circle, then cut a spiral into it. Then start at the outer edge of the spiral and twist it until you reach the middle…secure it with a little hot glue and you’re done!!!

Leave a Reply

