Running is Hard, but Breakfast is Good

I only have a few days left to sleep in because nursing school starts on Monday. Of course I am beyond thrilled about this, however, a sense of fear and nervousness has started to creep in. What if it’s too hard? What if I won’t be able to work and keep up with school? What if I’m not a morning person anymore? How will I find time to study and to run? What if patients hate me? What if the other students don’t like me? And worst of all…

…what if I’m not good at it?!

So, instead of letting all those crazy feelings consume my every thought, I decided to live it up one more day and sleep in. Is it sad that sleeping in is “living it up” to me? Or acceptable? I’m not sure. After I had enough coziness it was time to start my day…which in accordance with my week one New Year’s goal meant eating breakfast.

source

I’ve now started my day with breakfast three days in a row, and it has been magnificent! Before I wasn’t anti-breakfast. In fact, most days in 2011 I did eat breakfast…that is until December hit. Sleeping in and having no particular running goals left me with no motivation to go toast a bagel…or pour a bowl of cereal…or blend up a smoothie. Cookie parties also had a hand in eliminating my desire to eat breakfast. Wake up at eleven, eat a chocolate covered cherry cookie (hey, it has fruit in it), and call it a day…until noon, that is, when it was time for lunch.

But three days in a row with a healthy, well-rounded breakfast has got me feeling energized! Throw in some vitamins and a cup of coffee, and there’s no telling how much I can accomplish!

Yes, breakfast is good.

Next on my agenda of “living it up” until nursing school hits…go for a run. Now, I don’t know about you, but I can say for a fact that when I sleep in I have a much, much harder time convincing myself to lace up my shoes and get out the door.

source

But after some moseying around, I finally threw my hair up into a ponytail and set out for a sunny eight mile run…my longest run in quite awhile. And it was hard. The hills. The blisters on my heel from my new shoes. The distance. The hills.

Running is hard.

Once my watch clicked to eight miles I walked back inside and realized that yes, running is hard, but it is so rewarding. I just ran eight miles. Eight. That’s really quite a lot. And actually, I felt even more energized than before I left!

I find it so true that taking the first step is really the hardest…but with a good breakfast, I guess anything is possible.

ang

 

7 thoughts on “Running is Hard, but Breakfast is Good

  1. Ahh you and I are on SUCH the same wavelength!! My post yesterday was so similar to this one! Running is WORK. Bottom line. But it is WORTH IT work…and SO frickin’ rewarding at that. NICE job on knocking out EIGHT miles (and for eating breakfast everyday so far this year, yay!)

  2. As hard as it is to get motivated to go running sometimes (esp when it’s cold or wet), it’s ALWAYS worth it. That’s what I say to myself when I find myself trying to make excuses not to go; “you will never regret going for a run, but you will regret not going for one.” PS: You are going to do AWESOME with your new schedule and endeavors, just will take a little adjustment period then you’ll be flying!

  3. Hello, I just found your blog on wordpress blog finder. I love running and I start nursing school this mont also! Congrats and good luck with school. I know if you are like me you will find time to run because there just isn’t another option 🙂

  4. Such a great post, your words are truly inspiring! Makes me want to go run 8 miles! Yay for yummy breakfast and for getting your run on girl. P.s. You’ll do just fine in nursing school! 😉

  5. Pingback: A Bit of an Understatement |

Leave a Reply

