The Week I Didn’t Run, Eat Healthy, Blog, or Even Study Very Much

People have commented and complimented me for keeping up with my running plan and eating well during nursing school. I feel very proud of what I’ve accomplished so far. However, if you ask me how I do it…run, study, eat, study, study, study…the truth is, I don’t.

An entire week without running is not something I have experienced since my marathon last August. Instead of finding me on the treadmill or hitting the pavement, last week you would have found me cuddled up on the couch with two blankets, little Tia on the lap, a kleenex stuffed up my nose, and a coffee cup of TheraFlu steaming from the tv tray in front of me.

An entire week without running makes me nervous. What if my endurance is gone? If I’m going to stick to my plan I am going to run my first marathon of 2012 in approximately sixty days. That means I’m going to start seeing 14, 16, 20 mile long runs pretty soon. Um, what?!

I’m going to stick to my plan though. I know if I kick it back into gear again then I will be ready come sixty days from now. Eating healthy on the other hand…that one’s always a little tricky for me.

My plan was the make one healthy change to my diet each week. I totally rocked January adding lots of fruits and veggies, minimizing my soda pop and drinking lots of water. Then I amped up the coffee…then I ran out of fruit…then I ran out of time…then I forgot to make one healthy change…then I got sick (correlation here?!)…then I stopped trying.

So I need some help here. Oddly enough, one of the hardest things to do is just decide what my one healthy change will be. Does anyone have any suggestions other than servings of fruit and veggies? When it comes to what I’m eating I can use all the help I can get! I think for the remainder of this week I’m going to try to get back to where I was at the end of January, and for next week my goal is to simply plan ahead.

Last but not least, this poor little blog…has been…oh so…so neglected. Every now and then I check in just to make sure it hasn’t somehow vanished from the internet. The funny thing is that I actually have thought up quite a few of blog posts that I’d love to write…I just never get to it. What’s even crazier is that this month is National Eating Disorders Awareness Month…and I haven’t posted one time about it. Sad face. I still have a few days left, though, and National Eating Disorders Awareness week is coming right up, which is the anniversary of my discovery of the blog world…so you will hear from me again soon…I promise!

Until next time, keep on keeping on people!

ang

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Week I Didn’t Run, Eat Healthy, Blog, or Even Study Very Much

  1. I think one of the easiest ways to eat healthy is to try to eliminate processed foods, even “healthy,” ones like energy bars, fiber bars, etc. Plus, then it gives you some blog fodder if you try and make them in your own home!

  2. Seriously girl, you’re doing great – you have a LOT on your plate right now and this transition to student life is not easy, so give yourself a bit of a break, I think you might be trying to bite off a bit too much ALL at once you know? So if running is important to you – try to get back to your running routine as best as you can…and then once you’ve gotten into a good rhythm there for a week or two, add in some healthy food options. I’m a big fan of snacking thru the day if I can’t get to “real” meals all the time, you know? I’m here for you if you need to chat – email me anytime!!

  3. Totally understand where you are coming from. But the best thing to remember is that everyone has one of these times when nothing goes as planned. And guess what? Its okay. Just get right back on the train/track/wagon and you’ll be fine. Which marathon are you training for?

    I’ve been trying to stick with my training plan myself and life just loves to throw things at us where we miss one workout here and there, but just keep in mind its ok. In the long run (no pun intended, or maybe i did intend) everything will be okay and you’ll do great!

  4. I feel you. In fact, I am sitting in bed with a box of Kleenex and sinuses that are waging war! I’m wallowing in lack of running remorse, too. It’s OK to run out of time and just submit to the life of being a nursing student. The important part is to not lose a sense of motivation and wanting to stay on top of your running game. I mean, I want to go running, but my body says “give it a rest”. Next week is a chance to turn it all around!

    As far as tips on staying healthy, remember, health is your perception. Do the best that you can do, and keep on trucking. If that means eating a handful of baby carrots once a week, so be it! You are on the right track with planning ahead. Take little breaks in between studying to portion out healthy snacks for the next day or week. Last week I made a batch of whole grain waffles, which I froze. I like to toast and slather them with peanut butter for a quick breakfast…especially on clinical days! I have also invested in those frozen black bean burgers. I brown and scramble them with egg to make whole wheat breakfast burritos. These can be done a couple of days in advance.

    Another way I sneak in veggies and fruit is with smoothies. I know it’s winter; but I try to drink one at least twice a week. I follow a basic recipe of fruit juice, almond milk or plain yogurt, a banana, some berries, and a heaping handful of spinach. Sometimes I throw in 1/2 cup of oats to make it a little more like a meal.

    I try to stay away from soda, sugar and processed food. The most important thing is getting good sleep and starting your day with breakfast. The rest I just let fall into place.

    Do what you can and be done with it!
    Keep your head up,
    THF

  5. I completely understand how difficult these things can be and I really think you’re doing great! Anyway it’s okay if things don’t completely go to plan, that’s just how life works sometimes, don’t beat yourself up over it, sometimes your body just needs a rest. I think the fact that you’re training for another marathon is amazing!!

    As for making healthy changes, how about cutting down on sugar (that’s what I’m trying to do right now), also cutting back on processed foods is always a good thing to do. I also think adding in more lean protein is a good healthy change to make (and one I really need to make myself!). I hope these little tips help!

    I’m sure you will be successful in all of this, I wish you all the best of luck with it 🙂 If you ever need someone impartial to talk to/rant at I’m always here, just drop me an email!

Leave a Reply

