Turn This Day Around

Well, all those pretty little endorphins finally wore off, and the post-marathon blues have set in. It’s crazy how a person can go from feeling on top of the world to feeling not so hot so quickly. If there is a secret to not letting that feeling go away, someone please tell me!

I’ve been endlessly searching through local race websites to find another race to do before Chicago. But my calendar is still raceless until October. Turns out there aren’t many marathons in the heat of the summer here in mid-MO. It’s not like it’s too hot or humid here in July. (In case you’re not from around here, that was blatant sarcasm.)

And, on top of the post-marathon blues, I have this inner thigh muscle that is giving me some trouble. I don’t think it’s serious, however, it’s just enough of a worry and a bother that I don’t think I should be on it. All that bottled up energy I-can-do-anything-I-want and I-can’t-wait-to-run-faster mentality has pretty much been shut down. I can count the number of times I’ve ran on one hand since April 21st, and that makes me pretty sad.

But I’m going to turn this depressing blog post, day, and mentality right around. It’s time to get back into the swing of things…fitness, eating better, and blogging. To start I’m going to take this pretty little thing for a w-a-l-k (I can’t say the word yet or she’ll go crazy!)…

…do some light strength training at home, and maybe, just maybe, a little bit of yoga. Then later I get to sit in the beautiful outdoors at a ballpark watching a high school baseball game. I think that’ll make for a pretty darn good day!

ang

One thought on “Turn This Day Around

Leave a Reply

