Better Add Some Down Dog In There

I’ve redecorated my living room…

…with a yoga mat.

I’ve been wanting to get back into yoga for a long time now. However, my yoga mat has been sitting in the backseat of my car never being used for close to a year. Poor little thing. Finally, yesterday, I decided to let it’s pretty pinkness back into my life…in the middle of my living room nevertheless.

So far I’ve only stepped on it a couple of times, only for a few minutes each time…but when I do I choose a pose that I love (i.e. triangle pose!) and it feels so darn good to be doing it. However, since I’m in the pose while watching the blaring television at the same time, I’m not sure you can actually call it yoga.

I’m definitely not a yoga guru, although I pretty much wish I was. Let’s go ahead and add become a certified yoga instructor to the bucket list. I’ve only ever taken a few beginner yoga classes, but I’ve always loved the way yoga makes me feel. The problem is that there are no yoga classes in town (that I am aware of) and I just feel silly doing yoga by myself in my home. Sure I know a few poses and feel great about my technique, but I have no ability to come up with sequences, fluidity, or anything that makes sense. Warrior 1, okay good. Um, next? How about pigeon? Better add some down dog in there.

See. Silliness. No good. (Maybe I should rethink that bucket list thing…)

There are a few things that I do know about yoga, though. Yoga helped me become a runner. I was doing yoga consistently when I was training for my first half marathon. Yoga helped me learn how to control my breathing which helped prepare me for the long distance. Yoga is a good stretch. Obviously. And stretching helps prevent injury. Lastly, yoga is good for the mind and for the heart.

It’s time to go hit up my studio!

ang

P.S. Does anyone have any at-home yoga advice?! Please help!!!

10 thoughts on “Better Add Some Down Dog In There

  1. Do you know if there are any lululemon stores in your area? We have one a couple miles from our place, and they offer FREE classes every week. Just google it, and call the store to see if they have any free classes 🙂

  2. I second the Lululemon store comment above but there are tons of great videos for at home yoga. I wrote a post with tons of suggestions. My favorites are yoga download, my yoga online, you tube and just good old DVDs! Netflix has some videos for free too! If you do it a few times to a video you can at least get an idea of how to create some good flows! Hope this helps! And happy yoga to you!
    http://liverunloveyoga.com/2012/02/17/finding-yoga-classes-online-and-at-home/

  3. I do yoga at home. If I’m ever unsure about how to do a pose I just google the hell out of it… find a bunch of videos on YouTube of different people getting into the pose differently.. and then figure out which method works best for me

  4. Hi!
    One thing that I find helpful at home is really relaxing meditation music – you could search ‘traditional native flute’ or ‘reiki music’ on itunes. Also I use the app ‘Yoga in Bed’ for when I otherwise can’t bring myself to get down on my mat. It’s very simple but has some good stretches. I use Youtube to learn sequences; I’m currently working on ‘Advanced Sun Salutation’ – there are so many videos that are helpful that I wont link to any one in particular. I’m not a Yoga expert either, but I hope this helps!

  5. I am NEVER motivated to do my at-home yoga DVDs but too scared to GO to a class because I am SO inflexible, it’s ridiculous! I need to be one with my yoga mat more too. I’m with you on that one!!

Leave a Reply

