Change Your Thoughts…Change the World

I’ve been thinking a lot lately. I haven’t been posting my Friday Affirmations very regularly, and I am missing that. Sometimes it is a challenge to come up with an affirmation every week, but it is a good way to dig down deep and figure out the things I love about myself. The things that we all love about ourselves.

But I’ve been thinking about how these affirmations, or any affirmation, compliment, or kind words can impact a person. Does it really make a difference? If a person looks in the mirror and tells themselves they are beautiful, does that mean they will believe it? Do I believe it?

One thing I do know is that the more a person tells themselves that they are ugly or fat or unworthy, the more they will believe it. So shouldn’t it work the other way around?

I have a challenge for you (and myself). Let’s change our thoughts to positive thoughts, and let’s send a message to the world. It’s okay to love ourselves. It’s okay to think we are beautiful just the way we are.

1. Change your thoughts. Look in the mirror each day and tell yourself one things that you absolutely love about yourself. It doesn’t have to be something big. It could be that you love that little freckle on your nose. It doesn’t have to be something physical. It could be that you love that you have a caring heart. No matter what it is, tell yourself something new you love everyday.

2. Change the world. Tell someone else that you think they are beautiful…and tell them why. Let someone know how important they are to you. Give a complete stranger a compliment. However you want to do it, make an impact on someone else…everyday.

The more we are able to share the beauty of this world…the beauty that is you and me…the more the world will start believing it.

ang

4 thoughts on “Change Your Thoughts…Change the World

  1. SUCH an incredible idea, I LOVE IT. You are absolutely right — why do we allow ourselves to believe the negative affirmations we chant, but not the positive ones?

    I am all about paying it forward too so I’ll definitely be participating…starting now: I think you are beautiful on the outside but your best quality? Your huge,kind, love-filled heart. It’s just gorgeous 🙂

    • You are too freakin sweet!!! When I was writing this I was thinking of you…you are definitely beautiful inside and out, and your going confidence is so inspiring! Keep it up girl!

  2. What a great message. It’s along the lines of shifting your focus, too, isn’t it? I also love the pay it forward mantra, it’s something we should all be doing more of!!

    • It’s definitely along the lines of shifting your focus. It’s so easy to get caught up in the idea of “what we should look like.” Why not shift out focus to how wonderful we are today!?

Leave a Reply

