Thanksgiving Scrooge

Yesterday something awesome happened that put me in an instantly amazing mood.

I heard Christmas music.

source

Then I remembered that I have dinner club coming up in a couple weekends, and that can only mean one thing in my mind. Christmas ornament exchange. Yes please.

source

And, because of Pinterest, all my dinner club friends should be expecting a homemade Christmas ornament from the Mrs. side of this couple.

I know what some of you, er, most of you are thinking. It’s not even Thanksgiving yet. And yes, at dinner club we are exchanging our Christmas ornaments, but we are having a Thanksgiving themed dinner (duh).

By the way…I’m pretty sure I brought bruschetta to this event last year. You can probably expect me to bring another italian (i.e. not Thanksgiving) themed dish.

I actually am aware of this, however, I’d rather skip right over Thanksgiving and sprint toward the Christmas season. You can call me the scrooge of Thanksgiving. I’m not a fan of turkey, or stuffing, or mashed potatoes, or casseroles that, because of their color, I’m sure are made with mayonnaise (even if they are not). In fact, on Thanksgiving you can find me carrying a plate heaping of green bean casserole (not to be confused with cheesy green beans that the in-laws make), three to four rolls, and a black olive stuck on each finger of my free hand.

Don’t get me wrong. I appreciate the fact that we’re celebrating the pilgrims and the native americans and friendship and family and being thankful. I’m not an unthankful person, I promise. I am thankful for many things. Many. Many. Many. Things. I’m thankful for an unbelievably loving husband. I’m thankful for my princess Tia who puts a smile on my face seven thousand, three hundred and eleven times a day. I’m thankful for my family, most of which I don’t get to see enough, but all of whom I know love me dearly. I’m thankful for a second chance at a new degree. I’m thankful for all of my friends. I’m thankful for glue guns, colored markers (preferably Sharpies!), and coffee. I’m thankful for my health and my families’ health and my friends’ health. I’m thankful for Ali’s blog, which on Thursdays always reminds me of more things to be thankful for. I’m thankful for blog readers who motivate me to keep writing. I’m thankful for sweatpants, furry boots, jeans that fit well, and hot pink running apparel.

I’m thankful for pumpkin spice coffee creamer. I definitely jumped on that bandwagon. Why yes, and I’m thankful for it.

See, I’m thankful.

But I’m also thankful for Christmas songs, Christmas lights, the thought of a white Christmas, peppermint scented things, peppermint flavored things (bring on the peppermint mocha coffee creamer please!), red and green doggie sweaters (sorry Ti-Ti), wreaths, sparkly things, and of course, Barbara Streisand’s “Jingle Bells” and the memory of my cousin and I dancing to it when we were toddlers..

I mean, it’s only forty-seven days away. Definitely not too early for Christmas music.

ang

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Scrooge

  1. Pingback: Happy Week Ahead! |

Leave a comment